On Being Appreciative

“You don’t know what you have until it’s gone.”

We hear it over and over.
We even read it from time to time.
Seldom do we actually meditate on it.

Over the past week I’ve realized how selfish I’ve been when it comes to certain friendships.

I’ve overlooked so much and taken so many little things for granted.
So much has been given and provided for me but I haven’t appreciated them or even acknowledged how precious they are until now that I don’t have them anymore.

I have come to realize that no one needs to check up on me, to see how I’m doing. No one needs to ask  how I  am feeling or how my day went. No one has to call to hear my voice and try to make me laugh and no one has to send me pictures of something that they saw and thought of me.
Friends like that, people like that, they do it out of the kindness of their heart.

For anyone who reads this and feels like I am talking about you, yes I am.
I apologize for the way I have been acting and for how I have acted.

While I am making adjustments and trying to work on being a better friend now, I am also learning to appreciate the type of friendships I have.

With every friend, comes a different form of friendship.
Some friends are temporary.
Some friends are trustworthy.
Some friends are respectful.
Some friends are reckless.

Which friend are you?

“Look out not only for your own interests, but also for the interests of others.”
Philippians 2:4

Posted by

Just a proud Texan blogging about baking + cooking, crafting, gardening, journaling, preaching, reading, thrifting, and traveling.

One thought on “On Being Appreciative

Leave a Reply

