DIY Flower Pot Pencil Cup

Recently I was offered a new job which  I’ll post about soon and to celebrate the good news, I did what any sensible mid-twenty year old would do, I went shopping for desk supplies!

I immediately went to Target to see what their dollar section had to offer and found the basic essentials like mouse notepads, post it notes, pencils, pens, paperclips, etc.
I chose to go with a floral theme.

July 045.JPG

I looked for the perfect pencil cup but I didn’t find anything I liked, so I decided to make my own.

I wanted it to look like an actual flower pot.

 

Here is what I used:

  • Floral Tape
  • Pens
  • Artificial flowers
  • Dried beans or coffee beans (I used kidney beans since they look similar to dirt but coffee beans add a nice aroma.)
  • Craft scissors
  • Clay pot

All these items can be found at any dollar store.

I emptied the beans into the clay pot and I cut the flowers the length of the pen.

July 007.JPG

I then began to wrap the floral tape around the pen and flower stem.

July 008.JPG

I wrapped the whole pack of pens but you can use as much or as little as you would like obviously.

July 009

Once complete, I put the caps on as far as they would go and I let them set  for a few hours.

Place them in the pot with the beans and arrange them to look like flowers sprouting up!

July 010.JPG

It looks so real doesn’t it? I really loved the outcome!

Xoxo,

-R. Vargas

 

 

Posted by

Just a proud Texan blogging about baking + cooking, crafting, gardening, journaling, preaching, reading, thrifting, and traveling.

8 thoughts on “DIY Flower Pot Pencil Cup

Leave a Reply

